FASHION JOBS

Vain trifles as they seem, clothes have, they say, more important offices than to merely keep us warm. They change our view of the world and the world's view of us.”

Virginia Woolf

At the end of one of our fashion programs, you can work as a :

Fashion Designer - Collection Creator - Tendencies - Fashion Illustrator - Graphic Designer - Patternmaker – Sewer - Costume Designer - Fashion Manager – Fashion investor – Image counsellor - Media Communicator Manager etc. ...

Further specializations in other areas can open even more job possibilities.

 

FASHION DESIGN

The fashion designer is an artist and fashion expert who designs, develops and advises in the field of fashion. He is constantly aware of the latest news and want to inspire people by launching new fashion trends.  He guesses the , interprets them and then transforms them to design his own creations. Versatile, he intervenes at different stages of the creation process while respecting the requirements of production and brand image. A broad understanding of its environment enables it to develop targeted marketing strategies that meet business objectives that coincide with customer expectations and, in addition, enhance brand identity.

Career opportunities :
Fashion Designer - Collection Creator - Tendencies - Fashion Illustrator - Graphic Designer - Fashion Manager – Fashion investor – Image counsellor - Media Communicator Manager etc...

 

PATTERN MAKING - SEWING

The modeller is a technician, his work is between creation and production. He develops patterns from sketches of style, interpreting shapes and volumes through cutouts and inserting details. He participates in the realization of prototypes and fittings, postponing the necessary corrections directly on the patterns. He collaborates with the stylist, the collection director and the seamstress. It combines creativity and technicality, sense of fashion and precision. He can work as much for haute couture as for different degrees of ready-to-wear.

The couturier practices an essentially manual profession that reflects a somewhat contradictory image. Some fashion designers shine in influential fashion circles and others work in fashion. He can work in a company with the realization of models of collection. In this context, he makes a model by applying and adjusting the mounting range thereof. He can also have his own workshop and make orders ranging from the choice of fabrics to final fitting. This involves a wide range of skills, from drawing and sewing to patronage and customer management.of fashion open up even more possibilities.

 

Career opportunities :
Modeller - Patronist - Prototypist - Retoucher - Costumer - Quality Product Controller - Customer Advisor - Textile Buyer etc...

 

MAKING - PRODUCTION

The garment worker's job is to assemble a garment, that is to say, to carry out assembly operations of pre-cut textiles by means of sewing machines on a production line in a textile factory. This work may also include the completion of finishing operations and conditioning and, depending on experience, the coordination of a team or the production of prototypes. Today, the variety of assembly tasks and the evolution of production systems are increasingly demanding versatility and precision. There is a growing demand for assemblies of high-end small series, which implies that the independent garment maker is able to make a garment in its entirety directly from his own workshop.

The profession of retoucher with its various aspects such as the adaptation of new clothes to the measurements of a person, the transformation and modernization of clothes already worn is distinguished from the profession of confectioner

 

Ecole Canvas, Mode, Graphisme et Illustration.

Avenue de Sévelin 46, 1004, Lausanne, Suisse 

swiss design center g

METIERS DE LA MODE

"Vaines bagatelles qu’ils semblent être, les vêtements ont, disent-ils,

un destin plus important que de nous tenir chaud.

Ils changent notre vision du monde et le point de vue du monde sur nous."

Virginia Woolf

A l’issue d’une formation Mode en « Stylisme – Couture » le diplômé, à la fois artiste-créateur, technicien et commercial, peut exercer dans une des professions suivantes :

Styliste – Créateur Collection – Tendancier – Illustrateur de Mode – Dessinateur Infographiste – Modéliste – Patronnier – Prototypiste – Couturier/Retoucheur – Costumier – Fashion Manager – Acheteur textile et/ou Collection  – Conseiller Image et Clientèle – Communicateur Média Mode etc…

Les diverses spécialisations métiers auprès de l’univers de la Mode ouvrent à encore davantage de possibilités.

 

STYLISME – FASHION DESIGN

Le styliste est un artiste-technicien qui dessine, développe et conseille dans le domaine de la mode, de l’élégance, des formes et des couleurs. Il se renseigne constamment sur l’actualité, tant culturelle qu’artistique et technologique. Toujours à l’affut des tendances, il les devine, les interprète puis les transforme afin de concevoir ses propres créations. Polyvalent, il intervient aux différentes étapes du processus de création en respectant les impératifs de production et d’image de marque. Une compréhension générale de son environnement lui permet d’élaborer des stratégies marketing ciblées répondant à des objectifs commerciaux qui coïncident avec les attentes de la clientèle et lui permet, en outre, de renforcer l’identité de marque.

Débouchés professionnels :
Styliste – Créateur Collection – Tendancier – Illustrateur de Mode – Dessinateur Infographiste – Costumier – Fashion Manager – Acheteur Collection  – Conseiller Image – Communicateur Média Mode etc… 

 

MODELISME – COUTURE

Le modéliste est un technicien, son travail se situe entre la création et la production. Il développe les patrons à partir de croquis de style, interprétant formes et volumes grâce aux découpes et à l’insertion de détails. Il participe à la réalisation des prototypes et aux essayages, reportant les corrections nécessaires directement sur les patrons. Il collabore conjointement avec le styliste, le directeur de collection et la couturière. Il allie créativité et technicité, sens de la mode et précision. Il peut travailler tout autant pour la haute couture que pour les différents degrés de prêt-à-porter.

Le couturier pratique une profession essentiellement manuelle qui reflète une image un peu contradictoire. Certains couturiers brillent dans les milieux influents de la mode et d’autres exercent dans la confection. Il peut travailler dans une entreprise à la réalisation de modèles de collection. Dans ce contexte, il confectionne un modèle en appliquant et ajustant la gamme de montage de celui-ci. Il peut également avoir son propre atelier et réaliser des commandes allant du choix des tissus jusqu’aux essayages finaux. Cela implique un large panel de compétences allant du dessin à la couture en passant par le patronnage et la gestion des clients. 

 

Débouchés professionnels :
Modéliste – Patronnier – Prototypiste –Couturier/Retoucheur – Costumier – Contrôleur produit qualité – Conseiller Clientèle – Acheteur textiles etc…

 

CONFECTION - PRODUCTION

Le travail du confectionneur consiste à monter un vêtement, c’est-à-dire à réaliser des opérations d’assemblage de textiles pré coupés au moyen de machines à coudre sur une chaîne de production dans une usine textile. Ce travail peut aussi comprendre la réalisation d’opérations de finition et de conditionnement et, en fonction de l’expérience, la coordination d’une équipe ou la réalisation de prototypes. Aujourd’hui, la variété des tâches de montage et l’évolution des systèmes de production invitent de plus en plus à la polyvalence et à la précision. Il existe une demande croissante pour des montages de petites séries haut de gamme, ce qui implique que le confectionneur indépendant soit capable de réaliser un vêtement dans sa totalité directement depuis son propre atelier.

Le métier de retoucheur avec ses divers aspects tels que l’adaptation de vêtements neufs aux mesures d’une personne, la transformation et modernisation d’habits déjà portés se distingue du métier de confectionneur…

 

Ecole Canvas, Mode, Graphisme et Illustration.

Avenue de Sévelin 46, 1004, Lausanne, Suisse 

swiss design center g